Blog at WordPress.com.

Hello Strangers

Written in

by

Crismas, acrylic and oil on canvas, 107 x 81.5 cm, 2011

Some Days Are Better Than Others, acrylic, colored pencils and oil on canvas, 107 x 81.5 cm, 2009

My Mom at a Funeral, airbrush, colored pencils, acrylic and oil on canvas, 107 x 81.5 cm, 2008

My Mom at a Funeral, detail

The over dimensioned portraits are part of an ongoing project, consisting of hyperrealist works, called “Hello strangers”. The idea behind the project is to develop self-awareness and  a better understanding of the people with whom I come in contact throughout my life. The project is about the persons who, in one way or another, influenced my life. Every one of us creates his/her own experience of reality through believe, interpretation, action and reaction, thoughts and feelings. The portraits represent the reflection of emotions or moments that went on in my life and which unquestionably influenced me. “My mom at a funeral” represents one of these moments, captured while she was attending her mother’s funeral.

Tags

Categories